

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

May 3, 2016 11:00 a.m. Council Chambers

Members Present: Roxanne Carr, Mayor

Vic Bidzinski, Councillor Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Councillor Ward 2 Brian Botterill, Councillor Ward 3 Paul Smith, Councillor Ward 5 Linton Delainey, Councillor Ward 6 Bonnie Riddell, Councillor Ward 7

Members Absent: Carla Howatt, Councillor Ward 4

Fiona Beland-Quest, Councillor Ward 8

Administration Present: Rob Coon, Chief Commissioner

Darlene Bouwsema, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services

Kevin Glebe, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services

Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services

Greg Yeomans, Chief Financial Officer

Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services

Sandy Bugeja, Manager, Governance Support Services & Deputy Clerk

Jeremy Tremblett, Legislative Officer Lana Dyrland, Legislative Officer

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Carr called the meeting to order at 11:03 a.m.

2. **COUNCIL PRIORITIES**

2.1 Tax Rate Bylaw 17-2016

2016/ 141

Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT Bylaw 17-2016, a bylaw to authorize the 2016 tax rates for Strathcona County, be given first reading.

In Favour (6): R. Carr, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and B. Riddell

Opposed (1): V. Bidzinski

Carried

2016/ 142

Moved by: B. Riddell

THAT Bylaw 17-2016 be given second reading.

In Favour (6): R. Carr, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and B. Riddell

Opposed (1): V. Bidzinski

2016/ 143

Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT Bylaw 17-2016 be considered for third reading.

In Favour (6): R. Carr, V. Bidzinski D. Anderson, B. Botterill, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and B. Riddell

Carried Unanimously

2016/ 144

Moved by: D. Anderson

THAT Bylaw 17-2016 be given third reading.

In Favour (6): R. Carr, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and B. Riddell Opposed (1): V. Bidzinski

Carried

Carried

Carried

3. ADJOURNMENT

2016/ 145

Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT the Council meeting adjourn at 11:47 a.m.

In Favour (6): R. Carr, V. Bidzinski D. Anderson, B. Botterill, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and B. Riddell

Mayor

Director, Legislative & Legal Services