

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

June 13, 2017 7:00 p.m. Open Session Council Chamber

Members Present:	Roxanne Carr, Mayor Vic Bidzinski, Councillor Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Councillor Ward 2 Brian Botterill, Councillor Ward 3 (via conference call) Carla Howatt, Councillor Ward 4 Linton Delainey, Councillor Ward 6 Bonnie Riddell, Councillor Ward 7 Fiona Beland-Quest, Councillor Ward 8
Members Absent:	Paul Smith, Councillor Ward 5
Administration Present:	Rob Coon, Chief Commissioner Kevin Glebe, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services Laura Probst, Acting Chief Financial Officer Lori Cooper, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services Sandy Bugeja, Manager, Governance Support Services & Deputy Clerk Lana Dyrland, Legislative Officer

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Carr called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

2. ADDITIONS / DELETIONS / CHANGES TO AGENDA The Chair called for additions/deletions/changes to the agenda. There were no changes to the agenda.

3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2016/ 245 Moved by: R. Carr

THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favor (8): R. Carr, V. Bidzinski, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, C. Howatt, L. Delainey, B. Riddell, and F. Beland-Quest

Carried

4. PUBLIC HEARING

The Director of LLS outlined the Public Hearing Procedures.

4.1 Municipal Development Plan Bylaw 20-2017

The Chair convened the Public Hearing for Bylaw 20-2017 at 7:13 p.m. Administration made a presentation on the bylaw. Administration and an external advisor, Jeneane Grundberg of Brownlee LLP, answered Council's questions.

Council heard from the following speakers:

Andrew Usenik	in favour (written submission only, read aloud by the Mayor)
Jim Johannsson	in favour
Kerry Cameron	opposed
Alma Hansen	
	opposed
Dr. Charles Briggs	opposed
Norman Johnson	opposed
Debbie Bishop	opposed (handout)
Sam Johnson	opposed
Dennis Fenske	opposed (handout)
Todd Oeming	opposed (handout)
Wayne Kading	opposed (handout)
Joyce Andrews	opposed
Lois Gordon	opposed (handout)
Tony Abbruzzese	opposed
Marina Young	in favour
Allan Hacking	opposed
Marilyn Macyk	opposed
Bill Bocock	opposed
Gary Hacking	opposed
Morris Hosford	opposed
Wade Zwicker	opposed
Madeleine Boisvert	in favour

The Chair advised the Public Hearing would be closed following a short recess. Council recessed at 11:14 p.m. and reconvened at 11:25 p.m.

D. Bishop requested an additional opportunity to present. The Chair ruled the additional presentation out of order, as D. Bishop had already made a five minute presentation.

Council recessed at 11:26 p.m. and reconvened at 11:34 p.m.

The Chair closed the Public Hearing for Bylaw 20-2017 at 11:35 p.m. Administration and Ms. Grundberg answered Council's questions

2016/ 246 Moved by: B. Riddell

THAT Bylaw 20-2017, a bylaw that proposes to adopt a new Municipal Development Plan for Strathcona County, be given first reading.

In Favor (7): R. Carr, V. Bidzinski, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, C. Howatt, B. Riddell, and F. Beland-Quest Opposed (1): L. Delainey

2016/ 247 Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT Bylaw 20-2017 be referred to the Capital Region Board for review.

In Favor (7): R. Carr, V. Bidzinski, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, C. Howatt, B. Riddell, and F. Beland-Quest Opposed (1): L. Delainey

Carried

Carried

5. ADJOURNMENT

The Mayor declared the meeting adjourned at 12:12 a.m.

Mayor

Director, Legislative & Legal Services