

# COUNCIL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING MINUTES

October 24, 2017 2:30 p.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor

Robert Parks, Councillor Ward 1
Dave Anderson, Councillor Ward 2
Brian Botterill, Councillor Ward 3
Bill Tonita, Councillor Ward 4
Paul Smith, Councillor Ward 5
Linton Delainey, Councillor Ward 6
Glen Lawrence, Councillor Ward 7
Katie Berghofer, Councillor Ward 8

Administration

Rob Coon, Chief Commissioner

Present:

Kevin Glebe, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services

Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services

Greg Yeomans, Chief Financial Officer

Lori Cooper, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services

Sandy Bugeja, Manager, Governance Support Services & Deputy Clerk

1

Jeremy Tremblett, Legislative Officer Lana Dyrland, Legislative Officer

## 1. SWEARING IN CEREMONY

The Swearing-In Ceremony for the 2017-2021 Strathcona County Council took place at 1:30 p.m.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

#### 2. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

## 3. ADDITIONS / DELETIONS / CHANGES TO AGENDA

There were no changes to the agenda.

## 4. ADOPT AGENDA

## 2015/377

Moved By Dave Anderson

THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favor (9): Rod Frank, Robert Parks, Dave Anderson, Brian Botterill, Bill Tonita, Paul Smith, Linton Delainey, Glen Lawrence, and Katie Berghofer

**Carried Unanimously** 

#### 5. COUNCIL PRIORITIES

# 5.1 2018 Meeting Dates Schedule

# 2015/378

Moved By Brian Botterill

THAT the 2018 Meeting Dates Schedule, as set out in Enclosure 1 to the October 24, 2017 Legislative and Legal Services Department report, be approved.

In Favor (9): Rod Frank, Robert Parks, Dave Anderson, Brian Botterill, Bill Tonita, Paul Smith, Linton Delainey, Glen Lawrence, and Katie Berghofer

Carried

# 5.2 2017-2021 Deputy Mayor/Acting Mayor Schedule

#### 2015/379

Moved By Paul Smith

THAT the 2017-2021 Deputy Mayor/Acting Mayor Schedule as set out in Enclosure 1 to the October 24, 2017 Legislative and Legal Services Department report, be approved.

In Favor (9): Rod Frank, Robert Parks, Dave Anderson, Brian Botterill, Bill Tonita, Paul Smith, Linton Delainey, Glen Lawrence, and Katie Berghofer

Carried

# 6. ADJOURNMENT

**Moved By** Linton Delainey

THAT the Council Meeting adjourn at 2:36 p.m.

In Favor (9): Rod Frank, Robert Parks, Dave Anderson, Brian Botterill, Bill Tonita, Paul Smith, Linton Delainey, Glen Lawrence, and Katie Berghofer

Carried