

## SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

April 30, 2018 1:30 p.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor Robert Parks, Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Ward 2 Brian Botterill, Ward 3 Bill Tonita, Ward 4 Paul Smith, Ward 5 Linton Delainey, Ward 6 Glen Lawrence, Ward 7 Katie Berghofer, Ward 8

Administration Present: Rob Coon, Chief Commissioner Kevin Glebe, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services Bree Claude, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services Greg Yeomans, Chief Financial Officer Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services Jeremy Tremblett, Legislative Officer

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

## 2. PROTOCOL ITEMS

## 2.1 Treaty 6 Acknowledgement

The Mayor convened the Council meeting with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County Council meets on the traditional lands of Treaty 6 nations – including the Blackfoot, Cree, Dene, Gros Ventres, Métis, Nakota Sioux and Saulteau, and that the indigenous people were joined by settlers and pioneers who together built this great community of Strathcona County.

## 3. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

### 2018/ 153

Moved by: L. Delainey

THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

Carried

## 4. COUNCIL PRIORITIES

4.1 Bylaw 20-2018, 2018 Tax Rates

# 2018/154

Moved by: B. Tonita

THAT Bylaw 20-2018, a bylaw to authorize the 2018 tax rates for Strathcona County, be given first reading.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

Carried

#### 2018/ 155 Moved by: P Sm

Moved by: P. Smith

THAT Bylaw 20-2018 be given second reading.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

## Carried

# 2018/ 156

Moved by: D. Anderson

THAT Bylaw 20-2018 be considered for third reading.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

## Carried

## 2018/ 157 Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT Bylaw 20-2018 be given third reading.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

## Carried

## 5. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 2:16 p.m.

Mayor

Director, Legislative & Legal Services