

COUNCIL MEETING

MINUTES

September 30, 2019 2:00 p.m. Community Centre - Meeting Room 2 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

- Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor Robert Parks, Ward 1 Brian Botterill, Ward 3 Bill Tonita, Ward 4 Linton Delainey, Ward 6 Katie Berghofer, Ward 8
- Members Absent: Dave Anderson, Ward 2 Paul Smith, Ward 5 Glen Lawrence, Ward 7
- Administration Present: Kevin Glebe, Interim Chief Commissioner Stacy Fedechko, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services Greg Yeomans, Chief Financial Officer Lori Cooper, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 2:03 p.m.

2. CHANGES TO AGENDA & ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2019/ 275 Moved by: B. Tonita

THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, R. Parks, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, L. Delainey, and K. Berghofer

Carried

3. CLOSED SESSION

2019/ 276

Moved by: B. Botterill

THAT Council meet in private to discuss matters protected from disclosure under the *Freedom* of *Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIP)* Act section 24 at 2:04 p.m.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, R. Parks, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, L. Delainey, and K. Berghofer

Carried

- 3.1 Chief Commissioner Introduction of Topics
- 3.2 Budget Process Update FOIP Section 24, advice from officials

Name	Reason/ Purpose
Kevin Glebe	Strategic Leader of the Organization
Stacy Fedechko	Strategic Leader of the Organization
Lori Cooper	Strategic Leader of the Organization
Gord Johnston	Strategic Leader of the Organization
Laura Probst	Strategic Leader of the Organization
Mavis Nathoo	Legislative Advice/ Clerk
Greg Yeomans	Strategic Leader of the Org/ Presenter
Jay Bohachyk	Presenter

2019/ 277 Moved by: R. Parks

THAT Council/Priorities Committee revert to open session at 3:05 p.m.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, R. Parks, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, L. Delainey, and K. Berghofer

Carried

4. **PROTOCOL ITEMS**

4.1 Treaty 6 Acknowledgement

The Mayor re-convened the Council meeting with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County Council meets on the traditional lands of Treaty 6 nations – including the Blackfoot, Cree, Dene, Gros Ventres, Métis, Nakota Sioux and Saulteau, and that the indigenous people were joined by settlers and pioneers who together built this great community of Strathcona County.

5. MOTIONS ARISING OUT OF CLOSED SESSION

No motions arose out of the Closed Session.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 3:06 p.m.

Mayor

Director, Legislative & Legal Services