

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

May 25, 2021 9:00 a.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor Robert Parks, Ward 1 (attended via teleconference) Dave Anderson, Ward 2 (attended via teleconference) Brian Botterill, Ward 3 (attended via teleconference) Bill Tonita, Ward 4 (attended via teleconference) Paul Smith, Ward 5 (attended via teleconference) Linton Delainey, Ward 6 (attended via teleconference) Glen Lawrence, Ward 7(attended via teleconference) Katie Berghofer, Ward 8 (attended via teleconference) Administration Present: Darrell Reid, Chief Commissioner Laura Probst, Acting Chief Financial Officer Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services Grant Heer, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services Stacy Fedechko, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services Joanne Onciul, Legislative Officer

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER AND TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County Council meets on the traditional lands of Treaty 6 nations – including the Blackfoot, Cree, Dene, Gros Ventres, Métis, Nakota Sioux and Saulteaux, and that the indigenous people were joined by settlers and pioneers who together built this great community of Strathcona County.

#### 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

#### 2021/ 162 Moved by: R. Parks

THAT the May 25, 2021 Special Council Meeting agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favour (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

#### Carried

#### 3. COUNCIL PRIORITIES

3.1 Bylaw 14-2021 - Revised Cambrian Crossing Area Structure Plan for readings - Cambrian East (Ward 4)

# 2021/ 163

Moved by: K. Berghofer

THAT Bylaw 14-2021, a bylaw that revises the Cambrian Crossing ASP, be given third reading.

## 2021/ 164 Moved by: P. Smith

THAT the vote on Motion 2021/163 be taken immediately without debate.

In Favour (6): R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Tonita, P. Smith, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer Opposed (3): R. Frank, B. Botterill, and L. Delainey

#### Carried

#### 2021/ 163 Main Motion Moved by: K. Berghofer

THAT Bylaw 14-2021, a bylaw that revises the Cambrian Crossing ASP, be given third reading.

In Favour (7): R. Frank, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, and K. Berghofer Opposed (2): R. Parks, and G. Lawrence

> Reconsidered Motion 2021/163 was reconsidered at the request of Councillor Delainey.

3.2 Bylaw 15-2021 - Revised North of Yellowhead Area Concept Plan for readings (Ward 4)

## 2021/ 165 Moved by: P. Smith

THAT Bylaw 15-2021, a bylaw that revises the North of Yellowhead ACP, be given third reading.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, and K. Berghofer Opposed (3): R. Parks, L. Delainey, and G. Lawrence

#### Carried

3.3 2020 Capital Budget Amendment – SPSY Expansion and Modernization

# 2021/ 166 Moved by: P. Smith

THAT an amendment to the 2020 Capital Budget for the SPSY Expansion and Modernization project, to be increased by \$2,550,000 (from \$26,204,000 to \$28,754,000) and funded \$2,550,000 from Municipal reserves, and to consolidate the SPSY Vehicles Wash Bay project and associated funding into the SPSY Expansion and Modernization project, be approved.

In Favour (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

Carried

# 2021/ 167 Motion to Reconsider Moved by: L. Delainey

THAT Council reconsider motion 2021/163 THAT Bylaw 14-2021, a bylaw that revises the Cambrian Crossing ASP, be given third reading.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, L. Delainey, and K. Berghofer Opposed (3): B. Tonita, P. Smith, and G. Lawrence

Carried

# 2021/ 163

Main Motion Moved by: K. Berghofer

THAT Bylaw 14-2021, a bylaw that revises the Cambrian Crossing ASP, be given third reading.

In Favour (6): R. Frank, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, and K. Berghofer Opposed (3): R. Parks, L. Delainey, and G. Lawrence

Carried

# 4. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 9:45 a.m.

Mayor

Director, Legislative & Legal Services