

Policy

Recognition Protocol

Cross-reference: GOV-001-033 Council Communications

Policy Statement

Strathcona County will provide appropriate recognition to officials who attend Strathcona County protocol events.

Purpose

This policy provides guidance in determining whether officials should be recognized, and how to recognize the officials in accordance with customs and traditions.

Definitions

Order of Precedence means the list of officials, as set out in Schedule A, that may be recognized by the event host and includes all officials listed in the Alberta Order of Precedence, as well as all former Mayors and Councillors of Strathcona County, former Members of the Legislative Assembly, and current Strathcona County School Trustees.

Event Host means the person who is responsible for ceremonial functions associated with an event; who is the master of ceremonies; or who is the chair of a Council meeting.

Protocol Event means a County event of significant public profile, with broad corporate implications, and normally involving external officials. Examples of protocol events include, but are not limited to, openings of major civic facilities, meetings of Council, swearing-in ceremonies, state of the County, official flag raising etc.

Guidelines

Officials who are registered guests or who have notified the County of their attendance will be recognized according to the Order of Precedence.

The event host is responsible for recognizing officials in attendance at County protocol events.

In certain circumstances, it may be desirable to include recognition of other persons, such as event sponsors, community leaders, or special invited guests, etc. at County protocol events. In these situations, Administration will provide advice on recognition of such persons to the event organizer.

Policy Record

Date of Approval by Council: Resolution No:

Next Review Date: Policy No: GOV-001-035

Last Review Date: Replaces: N/A

Lead Role: Council

Administrative Review: Legislative and Legal Services

Schedule A - Order of Precedence

- 1. The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta*
- 2. The Premier of Alberta.
- 3. The Chief Justice of Alberta
- 4. Former Lieutenant Governors, precedence determined by the date of their Commissions
- 5. Former Premiers; precedence is determined by the date of their swearing-in ceremony
- 6. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta
- 7. Ambassadors and High Commissioners accredited to Canada
- 8. Members of the Executive Council of Alberta, in relative order of precedence as determined by the Premier
- 9. Leader of the Official Opposition
- 10. Members of the Privy Council for Canada resident in Alberta, with relative precedence among them to, first, Members of the Canadian Cabinet and second, to those not in Cabinet
- 11. Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta with precedence governed by the date of their first election to the Legislature
- 12. Members of the Senate, who represent Alberta, relative precedence determined by date of appointment
- 13. Members of the House of Commons who represent Alberta constituencies, relative precedence determined by date of election
- 14. Chief Justice, Alberta Court of Queen's Bench
- 15. Justices of the Alberta Court of Appeal
- 16. Justices of the Alberta Court of Oueen's Bench
- 17. Heads of religious denominations
- 18. Heads of Consular Posts: Consuls-General; Consuls; Vice-Consuls; Consular Agents. (Precedence is determined by the date that definitive recognition is given by the Governor General.)
- 19. Chief Judge of the Provincial Court followed by judges in seniority of appointment
- 20. Mayors and Councillors
- 21. Aboriginal Leaders: Chiefs of the Treaty First Nations in Alberta, in order of seniority of election to office; President of Metis Settlements General Council; President of Metis Nation of Alberta
- 22. Senior Officials:
 - a. The Deputy Minister to the Premier and Cabinet Secretary; the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly; the Ombudsman; the Provincial Auditor; the Chief Electoral Officer; the Ethics Commissioner, the Information and Privacy Commissioner, the Child and Youth Advocate, and the Public Interest Commissioner
 - b. Deputy Ministers; then Senior Alberta government officials with rank of Deputy Minister as determined by the Executive Council; then Chief Executive Officers of Crown Corporations (relative precedence determined by date of appointment)
 - c. Universities: The Chancellor of the University of Alberta; Chancellor of the University of Calgary; Chancellor of the University of Lethbridge; Chairman of the Board, University of Alberta; Chairman of the Board, University of Calgary; Chairman of the Board, University of Lethbridge; Chairman of the Board, Athabasca University; Chairman of the Board, Mount Royal University; Chairman of the Board, Grant MacEwan University; President of the University of Alberta; President of the University of Calgary; President of the University of Lethbridge; President of Athabasca University; President of Mount Royal University; President, Grant MacEwan University
 - d. Police and Military: Commanding Officer, "K" Division, Royal Canadian Mounted Police; Commander, 3rd Canadian Division; Commanding Officer, H.M.C.S. Nonsuch; Commanding Officer, 1 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group; Commanding Officer, 1

Area Support Group; Commanding Officer, 41 Canadian Brigade Group; Commanding Officer, 4 Wing

- 23. Former Members of the Legislative Assembly
- 24. Former Mayors and Councillors of Strathcona County
- 25. Current Strathcona County School Trustees

*In the absence of the Lieutenant Governor from the Province or his/her inability to carry out the duties of Lieutenant Governor for any reason, the Administrator of the Province takes the Lieutenant Governor's place of precedence.