

Acknowledgement of Treaty Six

Cross-reference: GOV-001-029 Organizational Roles and Responsibilities GOV-001-033 Council Communications

Policy Statement

Strathcona County recognizes that it is located within Treaty Six territory and it acknowledges the contributions of Treaty Six First Nations and the Métis Nation in the County's founding and growth.

Purpose

The purpose of this policy is to provide guidelines for acknowledging the traditional lands of Treaty Six First Nations.

Definitions

Treaty Six Territory – means the traditional lands and gathering places for diverse Indigenous peoples including the Cree, Blackfoot, Métis, Nakota Sioux, Iroquois, Dene, Ojibway/Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Inuit, and many others.

The Confederacy of Treaty Six First nations means the "united political voice" of the Treaty Six First Nations created in 1993 by 17 Treaty Six band governments.

Guidelines

- 1. Council will seek opportunities to develop positive relationships with and increase their understanding of the Confederacy of Treaty Six First Nations.
- 2. Each Council and Priorities Committee meeting will include an acknowledgement that the meeting is being held on Treaty Six territory.
- 3. Civic events opened by members of Council will include an acknowledgement that the occasion is taking place on Treaty Six territory.
- 4. Following each municipal election, the Council orientation will include information on the historical significance of Indigenous people in Strathcona County.

Policy Record

Date of Approval by Council:Resolution No:Next Review Date:Policy No: GOV-001-036Last Review Date:NALead Role:CouncilAdministrative Review:Chief Commissioner's Office