

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

January 8, 2018 2:00 p.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Absent: Rod Frank, Mayor

Robert Parks, Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Ward 2

Brian Botterill, Ward 3 (via teleconference)

Bill Tonita, Ward 4
Paul Smith, Ward 5
Linton Delainey, Ward 6
Glen Lawrence, Ward 7
Katie Berghofer, Ward 8

Administration Present: Rob Coon, Chief Commissioner

Lori Cooper, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 2:01 p.m.

## 1.1 Treaty 6 Acknowledgement

The Mayor convened the Council meeting at 2:00 p.m. with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County Council meets on the traditional travelling routes and gathering places of Treaty Six nations: Blackfoot, Cree, Dene, Gros Ventres, Métis, Nakota Sioux and Saulteaux. Strathcona County recognizes that a portion of its land is called Amiskwaciy, Cree for "The Beaver Hills" and that indigenous people were joined by settlers and pioneers in building Strathcona County.

#### 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2018/482

**Moved by:** D. Anderson

THAT the agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

**Carried** 

### 3. CLOSED SESSION

2018/483

Moved by: B. Tonita

THAT Council meet in private to discuss matters protected from disclosure under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (FOIP) Act sections 17 and 24 at 2:02 p.m.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

**Carried** 

3.1 2018 CAO Annual Performance Review Process FOIP Section 17, harmful to personal privacy FOIP Section 24, advice from officials

Name	Reason/ Purpose	
Rob Coon	Strategic Leader of the Organization	
Lori Cooper	Strategic Leader of the Organization / Presenter	
Debra Smith	Presenter	
Mavis Nathoo	Legislative Advice/ Clerk	

## 2018/484

Moved by: D. Anderson

THAT Council revert to open session at 2:45 p.m.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

**Carried** 

## 4. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 2:47 p.m.

Mayor
Director, Legislative & Legal Services