## Jurisdictional Review of Council Committees on Traffic Safety

Municipality	Council Committee	Terms of Reference
City of Mississauga	Road Safety Committee	The Road Safety Committee provides a community perspective on road safety issues, promotes public awareness and education for road safety initiatives and programs, with an aim to enhance community participation and cooperation. Road Safety Mississauga will consult with and promote partnerships with other committees and agencies, while supporting ongoing City programs and projects in an effort to raise the profile of road safety in Mississauga. Appointed members are expected to participate in promotional events on a regular basis to raise awareness related to road safety to residents and business.
City of Saskatoon	Traffic Safety Committee	The function of the Committee is to provide advice on policy matters related to traffic safety.
City of Leduc	Traffic Safety Committee	The mandate of the Committee is to make recommendations to Council and the City Manager regarding issues and opportunities in relation to the safe and efficient movement of vehicles and pedestrians within the City. The Committee will fulfill its mandate by: (a) regularly reviewing evidence, data and reports in the areas of traffic safety and efficiency; (b) soliciting information from knowledgeable parties on areas of concern in the fields of traffic safety and efficiency; (c) evaluating the regulation and management tools used to improve traffic safety and efficiency in other cities and jurisdictions; and (d) providing reports and recommendations to Council and the City Manager.

The following municipalities were surveyed but did not have a Council Committee focussed on traffic safety:

- Alberta: Airdrie, Brooks, Calgary, Camrose, Chestemere, Cold Lake, Edmonton, Fort Saskatchewan, Grande Prairie, Lacombe, Lethbridge, St. Albert, Spruce Grove, and Wetaskiwin.
- Other Canadian municipalities: Brampton, Guelph, Kitchener, London, Ottawa, Milton, St. Catherines, Toronto, Waterloo, Windsor, Vancouver, Victoria, Burnaby, Kelowna, Surrey, Regina,