History of Strathcona County's Division/Ward Boundaries

1962: County of Strathcona No. 20 was formed and consisted of five electoral divisions.

1972: Three electoral divisions were added to the hamlet of Sherwood Park increasing the total electoral divisions to eight.

1977: One electoral division was added to the hamlet of Sherwood Park bringing the total electoral divisions up to nine: five rural/suburban and four divisions in Sherwood Park.

1982: Edmonton's 1982 general annexation changed the total number of County divisions back to eight: four rural/suburban and four divisions in Sherwood Park.

1989: The County increased the number of divisions to 10: five for the Urban Service Area, two for Rural Service Area and three for the Suburban Area.

1995/96: Bylaw is passed to elect the Chief Elected Official (Mayor) at-large. Council also approved a seven ward system: four wards in the Urban Service Area and three wards I the Rural Service Area.

2003/04: Council approved Ward Boundary Objectives and Guiding Principles for Strathcona County Municipal Ward Boundary Review.

2004: Bylaw is passed to make adjustments to the 1995 ward boundaries. The total number of wards stayed the same at seven.

2006: Bylaw is passed to increase the total number of wards to eight: five wards in the Urban Service Area and three wards in the Rural Service Area.