

### Bylaw 15-2019, a Bylaw to Establish an Auditor Selection Committee

# **Report Purpose**

To seek Council approval for three readings of Bylaw 15-2019, a Bylaw to Establish an Auditor Selection Committee.

#### Recommendation

- 1. THAT Bylaw 15-2019, a Bylaw to establish an Auditor Selection Committee, be given first reading.
- 2. THAT Bylaw 15-2019 be given second reading.
- 3. THAT Bylaw 15-2019 be considered for third reading.
- 4. THAT Bylaw 15-2019 be given third reading.
- 5. THAT Councillors Botterill, Delainey, Tonita, and Parks be appointed to the Auditor Selection Committee to serve for the term of the Committee, provided that the appointees continue to serve as members of Council.

### **Our Prioritized Strategic Goals**

Governance Requirement

## Report

In order to facilitate the selection of an Auditor, the establishment of a selection committee is being recommended. Enclosure 1 provides the proposed bylaw for the establishment of this committee.

# **Other Impacts**

**Policy:** Strathcona County has a Procurement Policy (SER-014-001) which sets out the framework for the procurement of goods and services and construction projects for the County.

**Legislative/Legal:** Section 145(b) of the Municipal Government Act (MGA) provides that a council may pass bylaws in relation to the procedure and conduct of council, council committees, and other bodies established by the council, the conduct of councillors and the conduct of members of council committees and other bodies established by council. Section 203(1) of the MGA provides that Council may, by bylaw, delegate certain powers, duties or functions to a council committee.

**Interdepartmental:** LLS consulted Finance and Procurement Services on the draft bylaw. **Master Plan/Framework:** n/a

## **Communication Plan**

If approved, the Bylaw will be included on the County's public website and the Committee will be included in the Boards and Committees section of the public website.

#### **Enclosure**

Proposed Bylaw 15-2019

Author: Sandy Bugeja, Legislative and Legal Services Director: Mavis Nathoo, Legislative and Legal Services Associate Commissioner: Lori Cooper, Corporate Services

Lead Department: Legislative and Legal Services