

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

February 11, 2020 1:00 p.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor

Robert Parks, Ward 1
Dave Anderson, Ward 2
Brian Botterill, Ward 3
Bill Tonita, Ward 4
Paul Smith, Ward 5
Linton Delainey, Ward 6
Glen Lawrence, Ward 7
Katie Berghofer, Ward 8

Administration Present: Kevin Glebe, Interim Chief Commissioner

Greg Yeomans, Chief Financial Officer

Gord Johnston, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services

Diehl Townsley, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services

Stacy Fedechko, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning

Services

Mavis Nathoo, Director, Legislative and Legal Services

Joanne Onciul, Legislative Officer

## 1. CALL TO ORDER AND TREATY 6 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m. with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County Council meets on the traditional lands of Treaty 6 nations – including the Blackfoot, Cree, Dene, Gros Ventres, Métis, Nakota Sioux and Saulteaux, and that the indigenous people were joined by settlers and pioneers who together built this great community of Strathcona County.

### 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2020/29

Moved by: P. Smith

THAT the agenda for the February 11, 2020 Special Council meeting be adopted with the following changes:

• Add item 2.1, Proclamation - Canada's Agriculture Day.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

**Carried** 

2.1 Proclamation - Canada's Agriculture Day

Canada's Agriculture Day February 11, 2020

### 3. COUNCIL PRIORITIES

3.1 Review of Regional Transit Services Commission (RTSC) Final Report

2020/30

Moved by: B. Tonita

THAT the Mayor contact the Minister of Municipal Affairs for the Province of Alberta and the Chair and Vice Chair of the Regional Transit Services Commission Transition Team to advise that Strathcona County will not pursue membership in the proposed Regional Transit Services Commission for the Edmonton Metropolitan Region at this time;

THAT Administration continue to explore partnership opportunities in sub-regional transit initiatives; and

THAT, if a Regional Transit Services Commission is formed, Administration seek opportunities for continued collaboration with that Commission.

In Favor (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Botterill, B. Tonita, P. Smith, L. Delainey, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

Carried

#### 4. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

May
irector, Legislative & Legal Service