October 29th, 2018

Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould Minister of Justice House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Dear Minister Wilson-Raybould:

Re: More stringent penalties for drug trafficking

Illicit trafficking and use of drugs is a high-priority issue facing municipalities in Canada.

With escalating drug issues from the current epidemic of drug abuse and addiction, our communities are faced with escalating levels of petty crime along with public drug use and intoxication. These issues make residents feel unsafe in their community and tax the resources of our local police and negatively affect our local business community.

Our police forces are frustrated that current federal laws result only in short-term incarceration of those directly involved in the distribution and proliferation of illegal drugs in our communities. The result is unfettered and uninterrupted continuity of supply in the illegal drug distribution chain.

The undersigned Mayors of the Mid-Sized City Mayors' Caucus of Alberta formally and respectfully request that your office treat this issue as an immediate priority and implement legislation to provide more stringent penalties for drug trafficking.

We ask you to address this issue as an immediate priority of your department and our government. Doing so will be of great assistance to us and our local police services as we strive to fulfill our primary mandate of providing safe communities.

Drug trafficking continues to escalate. We seek immediate support from our federal government to respond effectively to this crisis in our communities.

Yours truly,

The Undersigned Mid-Sized City Mayors

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould October 29th, 2018 Page 2

Mayor Peter Brown, City of Airdrie

Mayor Barry Morishita, City of Brooks

Mayor Norman Mayer, City of Camrose

Mayor Marshall Chalmers, City of Chestermere

Mayor Craig Copeland, City of Cold Lake

Mayor Gale Ketchur, City of Fort Saskatchewan

Mayor Bill Given, City of Grande Prairie

Mayor Grant Creasey, City of Lacombe

Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc

Mayor Chris Spearman, City of Lethbridge

Mayor Gerald Aalbers, City of Lloydminster

Mayor Ted Clugston, City of Medicine Hat

Mayor Tara Veer, City of Red Deer

Mayor Stuart Houston, City of Spruce Grove

Mayor Cathy Heron, City of St. Albert

Mayor Tyler Gandam, City of Wetaskiwin

Mayor Don Scott, Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo

Mayor Rod Frank, Specialized Municipality of Strathcona County

Mayor John Stewart, Town of Beaumont

Mayor Jeff Genung, Town of Cochrane

Mayor Bill Robertson, Town of Okotoks

Mayor William Choy, Town of Stony Plain