October 29th, 2018

Honourable Kathleen Ganley
Minister of Justice and Solicitor General
424 Legislature Building
10800 – 97 Avenue
Edmonton, AB T5K 2B6

Dear Minister Ganley:

Re: Broader enforcement options to better deal with drug issues affecting community safety

Illicit trafficking and use of drugs is a high-priority issue facing municipalities in Canada.

With escalating drug issues from the current epidemic of drug abuse and addiction, our communities are faced with escalating levels of petty crime along with public drug use and intoxication. These issues make residents feel unsafe in their community, tax the resources of the police, and negatively impact our local business community.

The undersigned Mayors of the Mid-Sized City Mayors' Caucus of Alberta respectfully request that your office draft new provincial legislation to permit the lawful intervention, transportation and detention of those addicted to drugs and/or visibly using illegal drugs in public or private spaces to safe sobering (intox) facilities. Transportation could be provided by police or established community agencies designated by local municipalities.

Drug issues in Alberta are at crisis levels and we seek immediate support from our provincial government to respond effectively to this crisis. Doing so will help our municipalities and police services continue to fulfill our primary mandate of providing safe communities.

We ask you to address this issue as an immediate priority of your department and our provincial government.

Yours truly,

The Undersigned Mid-Sized City Mayors (22):

Mayor Peter Brown, City of Airdrie	Mayor Ted Clugston, City of Medicine Hat
Mayor Barry Morishita, City of Brooks	Mayor Tara Veer, City of Red Deer
Mayor Norman Mayer, City of Camrose	Mayor Stuart Houston, City of Spruce Grove
Mayor Marshall Chalmers, City of Chestermere	Mayor Cathy Heron, City of St. Albert
Mayor Craig Copeland, City of Cold Lake	Mayor Tyler Gandam, City of Wetaskiwin
Mayor Gale Ketchur, City of Fort Saskatchewan	Mayor Don Scott, Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
Mayor Bill Given, City of Grande Prairie	Mayor Rod Frank, Specialized Municipality of Strathcona County
Mayor Grant Creasey, City of Lacombe	Mayor John Stewart, Town of Beaumont
Mayor Bob Young, City of Leduc	Mayor Jeff Genung, Town of Cochrane
Mayor Chris Spearman, City of Lethbridge	Mayor Bill Robertson, Town of Okotoks
Mayor Gerald Aalbers, City of Lloydminster	Mayor William Choy, Town of Stony Plain