

Bylaw 47-2020, A Bylaw to Amend Bylaw 56-2017, Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Bylaw

Report Purpose

To seek three readings of Bylaw 47-2020, a bylaw to amend Bylaw 56-2017, the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board Bylaw to increase the number of appointed members to the Board and to seek Council approval on the appointment of additional members to the Board.

Recommendation

- 1. THAT Bylaw 47-2020, a bylaw that amends Bylaw 56-2017 so that the number of appointed members to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board may be increased, be given first reading.
- 2. THAT Bylaw 47-2020 be given second reading.
- 3. THAT Bylaw 47-2020 be considered for third reading.
- 4. THAT Bylaw 47-2020 be given third reading.
- 5. THAT Jay Ramotar and Heather Sharp be appointed to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a term commencing on September 8, 2020 and terminating on December 31, 2020.

Our Prioritized Strategic Goals

Governance Requirement

Report

The bylaw amendment is required in order to enable the continuation of a Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) matter that began in 2018. The amendment to the SDAB bylaw allows Council to appoint an additional two members to the Board so that the original panel that heard the 2018 appeal may be reconvened to further address the appeal as directed by the Court of Appeal.

Council and Committee History

October 31, 2017 Council gave three readings to Bylaw 56-2017, the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board bylaw.

Other Impacts

Policy: n/a

Legislative/Legal: Section 63(1) of the Municipal Government Act provides that a council of a municipality may, by bylaw, revise any of its bylaws or any one or more provisions of

them in accordance with the bylaw provisions of the Act.

Interdepartmental: n/a
Master Plan/Framework: n/a

Communication Plan

Strathcona County Bylaw are published on the County's public website.

Enclosure

1 Proposed Bylaw 47-2020, A Bylaw to Amend Bylaw 56-2017

Author: Sandy Bugeja, Legislative and Legal Services Director: Mavis Nathoo, Legislative and Legal Services Associate Commissioner: Lori Cooper, Corporate Services

Lead Department: Legislative and Legal Services