

Policy

Recognition Protocol

Policy Statement

Strathcona County will provide appropriate recognition to officials who attend Strathcona County's Protocol Events.

Purpose

This policy provides guidance in determining whether officials should be recognized, and how to recognize the officials in accordance with laws, customs, and tradition.

Definitions

Order of Precedence means the list of officials that may be recognized by the organizer of an event, and includes all officials listed in the Alberta Order of Precedence, as well as all former and current Mayors and Councilors of Strathcona County.

Organizer means the person who oversees the program of the event; who runs the actual program; who is the master of ceremonies; etc.; includes chair of council meeting, MC of dinner, ribbon-cutter at ribbon-cutting, etc.

Protocol Event means a Strathcona County organized event of significant public profile, with broad corporate implications, and normally involving officials listed in the Order of Precedence or in this policy. Examples of protocol events include, but are not limited to, openings of major civic facilities, meetings of Council, swearing-in ceremonies, state of the County address, official flag raising etc.

Guidelines

When considering whether or not to recognize an official in the Order of Precedence, the organizer of an event should consider:

- 1. What is the strength of the official's connection to the event?
- 2. Does the official have a connection to the organizer?
- 3. Are there other officials present with a similar or greater connection to the event or organizer, who should be recognized instead or in addition?
- 4. Is the official there by invitation of the organizer?
- 5. Is the official required to be present by law, custom, or tradition?

When an event involves registered attendance (such as dinners, ribbon-cuttings, and the State of the County address), the organizer must be notified of the known attendance of any official in the Order of Precedence.

The Organizer or designate is responsible for recognizing dignitaries in attendance at County Protocol Events.

Policy Record

Date of Approval by Council: September 5, 2017 Resolution No: 2017/31

Next Review Date: September 29, 2023 Policy No: GOV-001-035

Last Review Date: September 29, 2020 Replaces: N/A

Lead Role: Council

Administrative Review: Legislative and Legal Services

Schedule A - Order of Precedence

- 1. The Lieutenant Governor of Alberta*
- 2. The Premier of Alberta.
- 3. The Chief Justice of Alberta
- 4. Former Lieutenant Governors, precedence determined by the date of their Commissions
- 5. Former Premiers; precedence is determined by the date of their swearing-in ceremony
- 6. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta
- 7. Ambassadors and High Commissioners accredited to Canada
- 8. Members of the Executive Council of Alberta, in relative order of precedence as determined by the Premier
- 9. Leader of the Official Opposition
- 10. Members of the Privy Council for Canada resident in Alberta, with relative precedence among them to, first, Members of the Canadian Cabinet and second, to those not in Cabinet
- 11. Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta with precedence governed by the date of their first election to the Legislature
- 12. Members of the Senate, who represent Alberta, relative precedence determined by date of appointment
- 13. Members of the House of Commons who represent Alberta constituencies, relative precedence determined by date of election
- 14. Chief Justice, Alberta Court of Queen's Bench
- 15. Justices of the Alberta Court of Appeal
- 16. Justices of the Alberta Court of Queen's Bench
- 17. Heads of religious denominations
- 18. Heads of Consular Posts: Consuls-General; Consuls; Vice-Consuls; Consular Agents. (Precedence is determined by the date that definitive recognition is given by the Governor General.)
- 19. Chief Judge of the Provincial Court followed by judges in seniority of appointment
- 20. Mayors and Councillors
- 21. Aboriginal Leaders: Chiefs of the Treaty First Nations in Alberta, in order of seniority of election to office; President of Metis Settlements General Council; President of Metis Nation of Alberta
- 22. Senior Officials:
 - a. The Deputy Minister to the Premier and Cabinet Secretary; the Clerk of the Legislative Assembly; the Ombudsman; the Provincial Auditor; the Chief Electoral Officer; the Ethics Commissioner, the Information and Privacy Commissioner, the Child and Youth Advocate, and the Public Interest Commissioner
 - b. Deputy Ministers; then Senior Alberta government officials with rank of Deputy Minister as determined by the Executive Council; then Chief Executive Officers of Crown Corporations (relative precedence determined by date of appointment)
 - c. Universities: The Chancellor of the University of Alberta; Chancellor of the University of Calgary; Chancellor of the University of Lethbridge; Chairman of the Board, University of Alberta; Chairman of the Board, University of Calgary; Chairman of the Board, University of Lethbridge; Chairman of the Board, Athabasca University; Chairman of the Board, Mount Royal University; Chairman of the Board, Grant MacEwan University; President of the University of Alberta; President of the University of Calgary; President of the University of Lethbridge; President of Athabasca University; President of Mount Royal University; President, Grant MacEwan University
 - d. Police and Military: Commanding Officer, "K" Division, Royal Canadian Mounted Police; Commander, 3rd Canadian Division; Commanding Officer, H.M.C.S. Nonsuch; Commanding Officer, 1 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group;

Commanding Officer, 1 Area Support Group; Commanding Officer, 41 Canadian Brigade Group; Commanding Officer, 4 Wing

- 23. Current Strathcona County School Trustees
- 24. Former Members of the Legislative Assembly
- 25. Former Mayors and Councillors of Strathcona County

*In the absence of the Lieutenant Governor from the Province or his/her inability to carry out the duties of Lieutenant Governor for any reason, the Administrator of the Province takes the Lieutenant Governor's place of precedence.