

Bylaw 26-2023 Boards and Committees Honorarium Amending Bylaw No. 2

Report Purpose

This bylaw proposes amendments to Boards and Committees Honorarium Bylaw 34-2017 to correct a clerical error.

Recommendation

- 1. THAT Bylaw 26-2023, a bylaw that amends Bylaw 34-2017 to establish the honoraria to be payable to public members of Council Committees, be given first reading.
- 2. THAT Bylaw 26-2023 be given second reading.
- 3. THAT Bylaw 26-2023 be considered for third reading.
- 4. THAT Bylaw 26-2023 be given third reading.

Our Strategic Goals

Governance Requirement N/A

Report

Boards and Committees Honorarium Bylaw 34-2017 establishes the honoraria that will be paid to members of certain Council Committees. This bylaw came into effect on January 1, 2018, and was amended by Bylaw 14-2020 to make the schedule of Council Committees generic to avoid amendments as committees and task forces are either retired or enacted.

It was recently discovered that Bylaw 14-2020 included a clerical error that resulted in the improper amending of Bylaw 34-2017. Bylaw 26-2023 corrects this error and effectively replaces Schedule "A" with the originally intended generic schedule of Council Committees (Advisory Committees and Task Forces). There are no changes to the existing rates or honoraria.

Council and Committee History

April 21, 2020 Bylaw 14-2020 received three readings. Nov. 7, 2017 Bylaw 34-2017 received three readings.

Other Impacts

Policy: n/a

Legislative/Legal: Section 191 of the *Municipal Government Act* provides that a bylaw

must be amended in the same manner as it was passed.

Financial/Budget: There is no financial impact as there are no proposed changes to the

existing rates or honoraria.

Interdepartmental: n/a

Master Plan/Framework: n/a

Enclosure(s)

1 Proposed Bylaw 26-2023 Boards and Committees Honorarium

Amending Bylaw No. 2

2 Bylaw 34-2017 Boards and Committees Honorarium Bylaw

Author: Sara McKerry, Legislative and Legal Services Director: Mavis Nathoo, Legislative and Legal Services Associate Commissioner: Darrell Reid, Chief Commissioner

Lead Department: Legislative and Legal Services