

Boards and Committees – Councillor Appointments to Commemorative Names Registry Task Force

Report Purpose

To appoint Councillor members to the Commemorative Names Registry Task Force.

Recommendation

THAT Councillor Robert Parks, as primary member, and Councillor Glen Lawrence, as alternate member, be appointed to the Commemorative Names Registry Task Force for a term commencing June 20, 2023 and continuing for the term of the task force, provided they continue to serve as Councillors for the duration of the term.

Our Strategic Goals

Governance Requirement

Goal 4 Priority - Relationships with all levels of government and key stakeholders that are strategic, purposeful and productive

Report

Council appoints elected officials to boards, committees, and commissions in accordance with each body's bylaws. In the fall of 2022, Council gave three readings to the Commemorative Names Registry Task Force bylaw enacting the namesake task force. Recruitment was done by the Governance Advisory Committee in the first and second quarter of 2023 with the public member appointments made in early June. The task force will start to meet in the third quarter. The task force membership includes a primary and alternate member of Council. Councillor Parks and Councillor Lawrence have expressed their personal interest in this task force.

Council and Committee History

- June 6, 2023 Council appointed public members to the Commemorative Name Registry Task Force
- October 25, 2022 Council gave three reading to Bylaw 56-2022, Commemorative Name Registry Task Force

Other Impacts

Policy: n/a

Legislative/Legal: Section 153 of the Municipal Government Act, RSA 2000, c M-26, requires Councillors to participate in meetings of bodies to which they are appointed by Council.

Financial/Budget: n/a

Interdepartmental: Planning and Development Services **Master Plan/Framework:** n/a

Communication Plan

Updates will be made to the County website as required.

Author: Lana Fleming, Legislative and Legal Services Director: Mavis Nathoo, Legislative and Legal Services Chief Commissioner: Darrell Reid Lead Department: Legislative and Legal Services