

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

March 12, 2024 4:00 p.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present: Rod Frank, Mayor

Robert Parks, Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Ward 2 Lorne Harvey, Ward 3 Bill Tonita, Ward 4 Aaron Nelson, Ward 5

Corey-Ann Hartwick, Ward 6 Glen Lawrence, Ward 7 Katie Berghofer, Ward 8

Administration Present: Darrell Reid, Chief Commissioner

Jonathan Stoeck, Acting Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services and Chief

Financial Officer

Jason Chance, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services

Stacy Fedechko, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services

Sara McKerry, Manager, Governance Services

Susanne Semchuk, Legislative Officer

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Frank called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.

#### 2. PROTOCOL ITEMS

### 2.1 Territorial Acknowledgement

Mayor Frank acknowledged that Strathcona County is located on Treaty Six Territory and the homeland of the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region Two and Four. Strathcona County honours the First Peoples of this land. We recognize that we stand upon land that carries the footsteps of Cree, Métis, and Blackfoot amongst many other Nations, who have been here for thousands of years. Therefore, Strathcona County has an inherent responsibility to foster healthier relationships with First Peoples and further the Calls to Action as outlined by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

#### 3. DELETIONS FROM THE AGENDA AND ADOPTION OF AGENDA

2023/82

Moved by: C. Hartwick

THAT the March 12, 2024 Special Council meeting agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favour (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, L. Harvey, B. Tonita, A. Nelson, C. Hartwick, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

**Carried** 

#### 4. COUNCIL PRIORITIES

4.1 Consideration of a Motion to Rescind Referral Motion 2024/ 70 - Bylaw 6-2024

2023/83

Moved by: D. Anderson

That the following motion, passed at the February 27, 2024 Council meeting, be rescinded:

THAT the motion on the floor for first reading of Bylaw 6-2024 be referred to Administration to work with the Applicant to further address the concerns that have been raised regarding setbacks, parking, density and height and return to Council with a report on or before July 23, 2024.

In Favour (5): R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Tonita, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer Opposed (4): R. Frank, L. Harvey, A. Nelson, and G. Lawrence

**Carried** 

2023/84

Moved by: R. Parks

THAT Bylaw 6-2024, a bylaw that amends Land Use Bylaw 6-2015 by creating a new direct control district being DC87 – Direct Control district and rezoning approximately 1.17 hectares (2.89 acres) of land within Lot 3, Block 11, Plan 9120631 from PS – Public Services zoning district to DC87 – Direct Control district, be given first reading.

In Favour (5): R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Tonita, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer Opposed (4): R. Frank, L. Harvey, A. Nelson, and G. Lawrence

**Carried** 

2023/85

Moved by: B. Tonita

THAT Bylaw 6-2024 be given second reading.

In Favour (5): R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Tonita, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer Opposed (4): R. Frank, L. Harvey, A. Nelson, and G. Lawrence

Carried

## 2023/86

Moved by: K. Berghofer

THAT Bylaw 6-2024 be considered for third reading.

In Favour (5): R. Parks, D. Anderson, B. Tonita, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer

Opposed (4): R. Frank, L. Harvey, A. Nelson, and G. Lawrence

**Defeated** 

## 5. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Frank declared the meeting adjourned at 4:28 p.m.

				Mayor
Direc	tor, Legisla	ative & I	_egal S	ervices