

# PRIORITIES COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

June 17, 2025 9:00 a.m. Council Chamber 401 Festival Lane Sherwood Park, AB

Members Present:	Lorne Harvey, Deputy Mayor (Chair) Robert Parks, Ward 1 Dave Anderson, Ward 2 Bill Tonita, Ward 4 Aaron Nelson, Ward 5 Corey-Ann Hartwick, Ward 6 Glen Lawrence, Ward 7 Katie Berghofer, Ward 8 Rod Frank, Mayor
Administration Present:	Stacy Fedechko, Chief Commissioner Jennifer Cannon, Assoc. Commissioner, Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer Jason Chance, Assoc. Commissioner, Community Services Kevin Cole, Assoc. Commissioner, Infrastructure and Planning Services Mina Barnes, Legislative Officer Lana Fleming, Coordinator, Boards, Committees, and Tribunals

# 1. CALL TO ORDER & TERRITORIAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

Deputy Mayor Harvey called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. with an acknowledgement that Strathcona County is located on Treaty Six Territory and the homeland of the Métis Nation of Alberta, Region Two and Four. Strathcona County honours the First Peoples of this land. We recognize that we stand upon land that carries the footsteps of Cree, Métis, and Blackfoot amongst many other Nations, who have been here for thousands of years. Therefore, Strathcona County has an inherent responsibility to foster healthier relationships with First Peoples and further the Calls to Action as outlined by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

*Deputy Mayor Harvey conducted roll call and confirmed the remote participation of Mayor Frank.* 

Councillor Lawrence left the meeting at 9:02 a.m.

## 2. CHANGES TO AGENDA & ADOPTION OF AGENDA

# 2025/ P 13

Moved by: D. Anderson

THAT the June 17, 2025 Priorities Committee meeting agenda be adopted as presented.

In Favour (8): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, L. Harvey, B. Tonita, A. Nelson, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer

Carried

## 3. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

3.1 June 3, 2025 Priorities Committee Meeting Minutes

# 2025/ P 14 Moved by: A. Nelson

THAT the June 3, 2025 Priorities Committee Meeting Minutes be approved.

In Favour (8): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, L. Harvey, B. Tonita, A. Nelson, C. Hartwick, and K. Berghofer

Carried

Councillor Lawrence rejoined the meeting at 9:08 a.m.

#### 4. **REPORTS FOR DISCUSSION**

4.1 2025-2026 RCMP Annual Policing Priorities

## 2025/ P 15 Moved by: C. Hartwick

THAT Priorities Committee recommend to Council:

THAT the following 2025/2026 RCMP Annual Policing Priorities, as set out in the June 17, 2025 RCMP and Enforcement Services report, be approved:

- 1. Family Violence and Persons Crime
- 2. Property Crime
- 3. Drug Enforcement
- 4. Traffic Safety and Impaired Driving

In Favour (9): R. Frank, R. Parks, D. Anderson, L. Harvey, B. Tonita, A. Nelson, C. Hartwick, G. Lawrence, and K. Berghofer

Carried ACTION: Municipal Clerk's Office DUE: June 24, 2025 4.2 Strathcona County 2024 Annual Report

The Priorities Committee was provided with the Strathcona County Annual Report for the year ending December 31, 2024, for information purposes.

4.3 2024 Public Satisfaction Survey Results

The Priorities Committee was provided with the results of the 2024 Public Satisfaction Survey.

4.4 NAIT Service Pilot Update

The Priorities Committee was provided with an update on the NAIT Route 415 Service Pilot.

4.5 Sherwood Park Minor Baseball Association Presentation

The Priorities Committee was provided with a presentation regarding the vision for a yeararound indoor baseball and softball facility at Centennial Park.

#### **External Presenter:**

Josh Bishop, General Manager, Sherwood Park Minor Baseball Association

#### 5. COUNCILLOR REQUESTS (INFORMATION REQUESTS)

5.1 Councillor Request Report

*To add or remove items from the Councillor Request Report. There were no Information Requests.* 

#### 6. **REPORTS FOR INFORMATION**

The Committee was provided with the listed reports in this section for information only. Presentations were not heard at the meeting.

- 6.1 Council Committee Update
- 6.2 RCMP Community Advisory Committee Annual Report and Activity Update

## 7. ADJOURNMENT

Deputy Mayor Harvey declared the meeting adjourned at 11:28 a.m.

Deputy Mayor

Manager, Municipal Clerk's Office